Atish Dipankar University of Science & Technology (ADUST)

adust-logoAtish Dipankar University of Science and Technology (ADUST), a reputed and well-known private university in Bangladesh was established by a group of philanthropists, industrialists, bureaucrats and academicians under the leadership of Late Prof. Dr. Iajuddin Ahmed (Former President of the Peoples’ Republic of Bangladesh). The government of Bangladesh and University Grants Commission approved Atish Dipankar University of Science and Technology in 2004 under Private University Act (PUA) 1992.

The vision of the university is to establish all classes of students irrespective of class, caste, creed and merits in higher education in South Asia. The ultimate objective is to attract brilliant, poor and deserving students. Apart from this, its objective is to attract the attention of the scholars and researchers and scientists from all countries, particularly from those who are of the South Asian region. The mission of the university is to produce highly skilled manpower, visionary leaders and enlightened citizens. The mission is also to achieve its goal by imparting quality education, training and useful research so that the intellectual, social and personal potentials can be strengthened and established.

The university is run by a number of highly dignified persons as required under the provisions of the Private Universities Act 1992. The members of the Board of Trustee (BOT) provide policy guidelines and approve the university budget. The BOT is headed by the Chairman elected by its members. Professor Dr. Anwara Begum is the current Chairman of the BOT. She was also the first Chairman of the Board of Trustee & Founder Vice-Chancellor of Atish Dipankar University of Science and Technology. The management runs the administration of the university within the policy guidelines provided by BOT of 21 members which provides the overall policy guidelines of the university.

The university follows North American system of education regarding semesters, credit hours, letter grades and examination policy. Its curricula when first introduced were reviewed by relevant departments of University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign and University of California at Berkeley, USA and duly approved by UGC. The academic programs are continually updated and adapted to meet the global needs.

The University is accredited by the Government of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh and its curricula and programs have been approved by the University Grants Commission of Bangladesh. The President of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh is the Chancellor of the University .The Vice-Chancellor, Pro-Vice Chancellor and Treasurer are appointed by the Chancellor of the University. It is an immense pleasure for us that the Government has recently approved Professor Mahbubur Rahman as the Vice-Chancellor of this university.

The Vice Chancellor, as the Chief Executive, runs the university with the help of the following legal bodies; Syndicate, Academic Council, Finance Committee, Curriculum Committee, Planning and Development Committee, Dean’s Committee, Faculty Selection Committee, Degree Review Committee, Library Committee, Disciplinary Committee and Faculty Search Committee. The Registrar maintains the university records including admissions and examination results, and keeps liaison with Ministry of Education, University Grants Commission (UGC) and other relevant authorities.

Established 2004
VC Mahabubur-Rahman

Prof. Dr. Mahbubur Rahman

Address Permanent Campus: Plot # 209, Bailjhury (Adjacent to Sector # 15), Uttara, Dhaka-1230, Bangladesh.
City Main Campus: House # 83, Road # 4, Block # B, Banani, Dhaka-1213, Bangladesh.
Phone +88-02-8816762, 8850105


Department of Pharmacy
Established 2004
Chairman Md-Monirul-Islam

Dr. Md Monirul Islam

No. of Faculties Professor=0

Associate Professor=1

Assistant Professor= 2

Lecturer= 7

No. of Labs
Programs B.Pharm (Hon’s)


Bachelor of Pharmacy [B.Pharm (Hon’s)]
Duration 4 years, 8 semesters
Total Courses 74
Total Credits 152
Tuition Fees BDT 3,15,600/-
Semesters Spring (January-June)

Summer (July-December)

Entry Requirements Minimum GPA 2.50 in both S.S.C and H.S.C with science background or equivalent
Minimum 5 subjects in O-Level and 2 subjects in A-Level with minimum grade of B in 4 subjects and minimum grade of C in 3 subjects from science group.

Check Also


Northern University Bangladesh (NUB)

Northern University Bangladesh (NUB) has expanded to hosting a number of campuses 4 of which …